Loading. Please wait.

actress,actors gallery

Taliban attacks in 18 Afghan provinces amid Doha talks

Taliban attacks were reported across 18 provinces in Afghanistan as face-to-face talks between representatives of the militant group and the Kabul government started in Doha in an effort to resolve the decades-old conflict in the war-torn country.

The Ministry of Defence on Saturday said majority of the attacks were reported in provinces of Kunduz, Helmand, Balkh, Jawzjan, Faryab, Ghor, Badghis, Herat, Ghazni and Uruzgan, reports TOLO news.

"Over the past 24 hours, the Taliban group launched attacks on Afghan security and defence forces in 18 provinces. But the forces repelled the attacks and inflicted heavy casualties on the group," said Ministry spokesman Rohullah Ahmadza.

Meanwhile, the Taliban in a statement said that as part of a goodwill gesture, the group on Saturday released 22 Afghan soldiers in Helmand province.

Related news

More News